Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
back to blog

News for (ISTQB) Advanced Testers

Last updated: 13.02.21
News for (ISTQB) Advanced Testers

This is how the career paths according to the "ISTQB(R) Certified Tester" scheme currently look like:

In December 2019 the International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB) announced the 2019 Syllabus for the exams Advanced Level - Test Analyst (CTAL-TA) and Advanced Level - Technical Test Analyst (CTAL-TTA). The adoption of the core Advanced Level is the long-standing progression from the Foundation Level syllabus in the Certified Tester Scheme. It provides in-depth understanding and knowledge about role-based software testing activities. The update reflects the current state of the software testing industry and that included rationalization of some content to focus on the topics considered most important. Details you can find below in this article and of course on the ISTQB website.

Table showing the different level of ISTQB training

A Short Sumup for Busy People:

For you as a student the most important news is that CTAL-TA now is a 3 days course (previously 4 days) and examination time has been reduced from 180 to 120 minutes. Accordingly, the number of questions has been reduced from 60 to 40. Changes in CTAL-TTA are less intrusive and thus have no impact on the training length.

For us as a training provider it means re-accreditation for CTAL-TA and CTAL-TTA training material. Yes, re-accreditation! Did you know that all our training material is evaluated and accepted by the ISTQB through to one or more national board(s)? 

Details for All You Curious Testers

Table comparing ISTQB training in 2012 and in 2019

Following the release of the ISTQB Foundation Level 2018 syllabus, it was important to align the Core Advanced Level syllabi. Most of the changes are coming for the Test Analyst (CTAL-TA) training. As you see in the table, by scoping and making it consistent with the Foundation Core syllabus 2018, every CTAL-TA chapter has been modified. Defect Management, previously Chapter 6, was removed completely.

Other changes:

  • Testing Software Quality Characteristics, Chapter 4 - Adoption of ISO 25010 and consistency with CTFL Usability Tester (CTFL-UT) 2018
  • Test Tools & Automation, now Chapter 6 - consistency with the CTAL -Test Automation Engineer (CTAL-TAE) 2016
  • Update of ISO standard references, such as ISO 29119 (test process) and ISO 20246 (reviews).

As a result of the changes listed before, the overall course duration is reduced from 4 days to 3 days and examination time has been reduced from 180 to 120 minutes.

Some changes were made for the Technical Test Analyst (CTAL-TTA) syllabus as well:

  • Structure-based testing, Chapter 2, is now called White-box Test Techniques and takes 345 minutes instead of the previous 225 minutes.
  • Quality characteristics, Chapter 4 - Adoption of ISO 25010 and consistency with specialist modules on CTFL Performance Tester (CTFL-PT) 2018 and CTAL Security Tester (CTAL-SEC) 2016.
  • Test automation, Chapter 6 - Scoping and consistency with the ISTQB Advanced Level Test Automation Engineer (CTAL-TAE)

The pass mark of all ISTQB exams remains unchanged at 65%. Being the holder of a Certified Tester Foundation Level certificate also remains a prerequisite to all Advanced Level ISTQB exams.

The transition period for CTAL-TA & CTAL-TTA Syllabus 2012 ended on February 4th, 2021 for exams in English and lasts till August 4th, 2021 for exams in all other non-English languages.

The 2012 version of Advanced Test Manager is currently NOT affected by the changes and continues in force. (January 2021).

You can find all information about trendig's ISTQB Advanced Level Trainings here: