Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

requirements engineering

Requirements Engineers help to ensure that the software to be developed meets all requirements and general conditions. They enter into an exchange with all the people involved in the project (clients, investors, users from different departments, the development team, and many more), who are called stakeholders. 

From the collected ideas, desired functions and demands on the software, the requirements engineer compiles clear unambiguous requirements, along which the software developers can work. At the end of the requirements engineering process, there is a specification that can be implemented technically with the available resources within a realistic period of time and that meets the demands of the stakeholders as well as the internal and legal framework conditions. During implementation, they also support quality assurance and derive suitable test scenarios based on their in-depth user knowledge.

Requirements engineers are thus involved from the formulation of ideas to the rollout and assume a decisive position in the holistic planning and implementation of IT projects.

 

Become an IREB certified Requirements Engineer

In its industry-related continuing education standard, IREB maintains a course portfolio consisting of Foundation, Advanced and Expert level training courses and certification exams, which are designed to provide requirements engineers with a common best practices knowledge for their everyday professional life.

The "IREB Certified Requirements Engineer" certificate has become a standard qualification for requirements engineers in almost all industries. In our IREB courses we prepare you in the best possible way for your exam to become an IREB Requirements Engineer, both for the Foundation Level Exam as well as in some Advanced Level Exams. Our pass rate for the IREB Certified Requirements Engineer Exam is 90 percent. See for yourself - we are proud of the skills and knowledge of our trainers. 

IREB course content overview

The topics of requirements engineering (also called requirements analysis or business analysis) covered in the IREB are:

  • Introduction and overview to requirements engineering: understanding the value of RE. 
  • Three types of requirements 
    • Functional requirements 

They concern a result or behavior to be provided by a function of a system. These include requirements for data or the interaction of a system with its environment. 

  • Quality requirements 

They refer to quality aspects that are not covered by functional requirements, such as performance, availability, security, or reliability. 

  • Constraints (boundary conditions) 

Constraints are requirements that limit the solution space beyond what is necessary to meet the given functional and quality requirements.

  • Role and tasks of a requirements engineer 
  • Work products and documentation practices as well as documentation structures
  • Prototypes in requirements engineering (exploratory and evolutionary)
  • Quality criteria for work products and requirements
  • Sources and elicitation methods for requirements
  • Conflicts and conflict resolution
  • Validation of the quality of requirements
  • Processes and work structures
  • Requirements management, life cycle and versioning
  • Prioritization and traceability
  • Tool support / tooling

Important IREB requirements engineering topics

IREB stands for International Requirements Engineering Board and is an international non-profit association dedicated to the continuous improvement and development of the requirements engineering profession. 

Some particularly important terms that IREB requirements engineers should also be familiar with are:

Requirement

A requirement is primarily a need that a stakeholder has. This requirement is said to be a capability or property of the system according to the stakeholder's requests. In the preliminary stages of software development, a requirement is the documented representation of a need, capability, or property.

requirements specification

Requirements specification is a systematically presented collection of requirements, typically for a system that meets certain criteria. In some situations, we distinguish between a customer requirements specification (usually written by the customer) and a system requirements specification or software requirements specification (written by the vendor). 

work product

A work product is a recorded intermediate or final result produced in a work process. There are a variety of work products in RE; for example, these range from short-lived graphic sketches to evolving collections of user stories to formally released contractual requirements specifications with hundreds of pages.

requirements configuration

A requirements configuration is a consistent set of work products that contain requirements. Each configuration is defined for a specific purpose and contains at most one version of each work product. For example, the purpose of configurations is to perform a review on a set of work products or to estimate development effort.

baseline

A baseline is a stable, change-controlled configuration of work products and is used for release planning or other delivery milestones in a project. Baselines are used for release planning and release definition as well as project management purposes such as effort estimation.

Kano model

The Kano model describes the relationship between customer satisfaction and the fulfillment of customer requirements. It is named after Noriaki Kano, a former professor at Tokyo University of Science. In 1978, he divided customer requirements into five possible dimensions that have different effects on customer satisfaction:

  • Basic characteristics
  • Performance characteristics
  • Excitement characteristics
  • Insignificant characteristics
  • Rejection characteristics

Each characteristic can relate to both products and services and have an impact on individual customer satisfaction.

configuration

Configuration refers to a consistent set of logically related items. The items are individually identifiable work products or parts of work products in no more than one version per item.

modeling languages

Modeling languages are languages for expressing models of a particular type. They may be textual, graphical, symbolic, or a combination of these dimensions.

phrase template

A phrase template is a template for the syntactic structure of a phrase that expresses an individual requirement or user story in natural language.

stakeholder

Stakeholder is a person or organization that has influence on the requirements of a system or that is affected by that system. The influence can also be indirect: for example, some stakeholders must follow instructions from their managers or organizations.

UML activity diagram

A UML activity diagram is a function and flow diagram of the Unified Modeling Language (UML), a modeling language for software and other systems. It is the graphical representation of the interconnectedness of elementary actions and their connections with control and data flows.

use case

A use case is a set of possible interactions between external actors and a system that provides a benefit to the actor(s) involved. Use cases describe a system from the perspective of a user (or other external actor). Each use case describes a functionality.

requirements management (RM)

Requirements management is intended to achieve a common understanding between the supplier and the ordering party about a system to be developed. At the same time, the documents created in requirements management, e.g., requirements specifications, often serve as the contractual basis for implementation.

bulletin

Please register now and you will receive a compilation of interesting articles, discussions and blogs regarding software engineering, digitalization and career news every month.

contact persons

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

doris rupnow

training visibility marketeer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

requirements engineering

Requirements Engineers helfen sicherzustellen, dass die zu entwickelnde Software allen Anforderungen und Rahmenbedingungen gerecht wird. Sie gehen in den Austausch mit allen am Projekt beteiligten Personen (Auftraggeber, Investoren, Anwender verschiedener Fachbereiche, das Entwicklungsteam u.v.m.), die Stakeholder genannt werden. 

Aus den gesammelten Ideen, gewünschten Funktionen und Ansprüchen an die Software setzt der Requirements Engineer eineindeutige Anforderungen zusammen, entlang derer die Softwareentwickler arbeiten können. Am Ende des Requirements-Engineering-Prozesses steht eine Spezifikation, die technisch mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen in einem realistischen Zeitraum umsetzbar ist und den Wünschen der Stakeholder sowie den innerbetrieblichen und gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen entspricht. Während der Umsetzung unterstützen sie außerdem bei der Qualitätssicherung und leiten aufgrund ihrer tiefgreifenden Nutzer-Kenntnisse geeignete Testszenarien ab.

Requirements Engineers sind somit von der Ideenformulierung bis zum Rollout eingebunden und nehmen eine entscheidende Stellung in der ganzheitlichen Planung und Durchführung von IT-Projekten ein.

IREB-zertifizierter Requirements Engineer werden

Das IREB pflegt in seinem industrienahen Weiterbildungsstandard ein Kursportfolio aus Foundation-, Advanced- und Expert-Level-Schulungen und Zertifizierungsprüfungen, die Requirements Engineers ein gemeinsames Best Practices-Wissen für ihren Berufsalltag vermitteln sollen.

Das Zertifikat „IREB Certified Requirements Engineer“ ist mittlerweile ein Standard-Nachweis der Qualifizierung von Anforderungsanalytikern in nahezu allen Branchen. Wir bereiten Dich in unseren IREB-Kursen optimal auf Deine Prüfung zum IREB Requirements Engineer vor, sowohl für das Foundation Level Exam als auch in einigen Advanced Level Exams.. Unsere Bestehensquoten für das IREB Certified Requirements Engineer Exam liegen bei 90 Prozent. Überzeuge Dich gern selbst - wir sind stolz auf das Können und Wissen unserer Trainer*innen. 

Überblick der IREB-Kursinhalte

Im IREB beleuchtete Themenfelder des Requirements Engineering (auch Anforderungsanalyse oder Business Analysis genannt) sind:

  • Einführung und Überblick zum Requirements Engineering: den Wert des RE verstehen 
  • Drei Arten von Anforderungen 
    • Funktionale Anforderungen 

Sie betreffen ein Ergebnis oder Verhalten, das durch eine Funktion eines Systems bereitgestellt werden soll. Dazu gehören Anforderungen an Daten oder die Interaktion eines Systems mit seiner Umgebung. 

  • Qualitätsanforderungen 

Sie beziehen sich auf Qualitätsaspekte, die nicht durch funktionale Anforderungen abgedeckt sind, wie z.B. Leistung (Performance), Verfügbarkeit, Sicherheit oder Zuverlässigkeit. 

  • Constraints (Randbedingungen) 

Constraints sind Anforderungen, die den Lösungsraum über das hinaus begrenzen, was zur Erfüllung der gegebenen funktionalen Anforderungen und Qualitätsanforderungen notwendig ist

  • Rolle und Aufgaben eines Requirements Engineers 
  • Arbeitsprodukte und Dokumentationspraktiken sowie Dokumentationsstrukturen
  • Prototypen im Requirements Engineering (explorative und evolutionäre)
  • Qualitätskriterien für Arbeitsprodukte und Anforderungen
  • Quellen und Ermittlungsverfahren für Anforderungen
  • Konflikte und Konfliktlösungen
  • Validierung der Qualität von Anforderungen
  • Prozesse und Arbeitsstrukturen
  • Requirements Management, Lebenszyklus und Versionierung
  • Priorisierung und Verfolgbarkeit (traceability)
  • Werkzeugunterstützung / Tooling
  • RE-Dokumentation

Basiswissen Requirements Engineering

IREB steht für International Requirements Engineering Board und ist eine international agierende non-profit Vereinigung, die sich der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung und Weiterentwicklung des Berufsbildes Requirements Engineer verschrieben hat. 

Einige besonders wichtige Begriffe, mit denen IREB Requirements Engineers außerdem vertraut sein sollten, sind:

Anforderung

Eine Anforderung (englisch: Requirement) ist in erster Linie ein Bedürfnis, das ein Stakeholder hat. Diese Anforderung soll den Wünschen des Stakeholders nach eine Fähigkeit oder Eigenschaft des Systems sein. Im Vorfeld der Softwareentwicklung ist eine Anforderung somit eine dokumentierte Darstellung eines Bedarfs, einer Fähigkeit oder einer Eigenschaft.

Anforderungsspezifikation

Unter Anforderungsspezifikation versteht man eine systematisch dargestellte Sammlung von Anforderungen, typischerweise für ein System, das bestimmte Kriterien erfüllt. In manchen Situationen unterscheiden wir zwischen einer Kundenanforderungsspezifikation (in der Regel vom Kunden verfasst) und einer System-Anforderungsspezifikation oder Software-Anforderungsspezifikation (geschrieben vom Anbieter).

Arbeitsprodukt

Ein Arbeitsprodukt ist ein aufgezeichnetes, in einem Arbeitsprozess erzeugtes Zwischen- oder Endergebnis. Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Arbeitsprodukten im RE, diese reichen beispielsweise von kurzlebigen grafischen Skizzen über sich entwickelnde Sammlungen von User Storys bis hin zu formell freigegebenen vertraglichen Anforderungsspezifikationen mit Hunderten von Seiten.

Anforderungskonfiguration

Eine Anforderungskonfiguration ist eine konsistente Zusammenstellung von Arbeitsprodukten, die Anforderungen enthalten. Jede Konfiguration ist für einen bestimmten Zweck definiert und enthält höchstens eine Version jedes Arbeitsprodukts. Der Zweck von Konfigurationen besteht beispielsweise darin, ein Review auf eine Zusammenstellung von Arbeitsprodukten durchzuführen oder um den Entwicklungsaufwand abzuschätzen.

Basislinie

Eine Basislinie ist eine stabile, änderungskontrollierte Konfiguration von Arbeitsprodukten und dient der Release-Planung oder anderen Liefermeilensteinen in einem Projekt. Basislinien dienen der Release-Planung und Release-Definition sowie Projektmanagement-Zwecken wie der Aufwandsabschätzung.

Kano-Modell

Das Kano-Modell beschreibt den Zusammenhang zwischen Kundenzufriedenheit und Erfüllung von Kundenanforderungen. Namensgeber ist Noriaki Kano, ehemaliger Professor der Tokyo University of Science. Er teilte 1978 Kundenanforderungen in fünf mögliche Dimensionen, die unterschiedliche Auswirkungen auf die Zufriedenheit des Kunden haben:

  • Basismerkmale
  • Leistungsmerkmale
  • Begeisterungsmerkmale
  • Unerhebliche Merkmale
  • Rückweisungsmerkmale

Jedes Merkmals kann sich sowohl auf Produkte als auch auf Dienstleistungen beziehen und Einfluss auf die individuelle Kundenzufriedenheit haben.

Konfiguration

Unter Konfiguration versteht man einen konsistenten Satz von logisch zusammenhängenden Punkten. Die Elemente sind einzeln identifizierbare Arbeitsprodukte oder Teile von Arbeitsprodukten in höchstens einer Version pro Artikel.

Modellierungssprachen

Modellierungssprachen sind Sprachen zum Ausdruck von Modellen einer bestimmten Art. Sie können textuell, grafisch, symbolisch oder eine Kombination dieser Dimensionen sein.

Satzschablone

Eine Satzschablone ist die Vorlage für die syntaktische Struktur eines Satzes, der eine individuelle Anforderung oder eine Benutzergeschichte in natürlicher Sprache ausdrückt.

Stakeholder

Stakeholder ist eine Person oder Organisation, die Einfluss auf die Anforderungen eines Systems hat oder die von diesem System betroffen ist. Der Einfluss kann dabei auch indirekt sein: Einige Beteiligte müssen zum Beispiel Anweisungen ihrer Manager oder Organisationen befolgen.

UML-Aktivitätsdiagramm

Ein UML-Aktivitätsdiagramm ist ein Verhaltensdiagramm der Unified Modeling Language (UML), einer Modellierungssprache für Software und andere Systeme. Es ist die grafische Darstellung der Vernetzung von elementaren Aktionen und deren Verbindungen mit Kontroll- und Datenflüssen.

Use Case / Anwendungsfall

Use Case, auf Deutsch auch Anwendungsfall genannt, ist eine Reihe von möglichen Interaktionen zwischen externen Akteuren und einem System, die einen Nutzen für den/die beteiligten Akteur(e) bieten. Use Cases beschreiben ein System aus der Sicht eines Nutzers (oder eines anderen externen Akteurs). Jeder Anwendungsfall beschreibt eine Funktionalität.

Anforderungsmanagement

Das Anforderungsmanagement (englisch requirements management, RM) soll ein gemeinsames Verständnis über ein zu entwickelndes System zwischen Auftragnehmer und Auftraggeber erreichen. Zugleich dienen die im Anforderungsmanagement erstellten Dokumente, z.B. Lastenheft und Pflichtenheft, häufig als vertragliche Basis für die Umsetzung.  

wochenpost

Melde dich jetzt an und bekomme jeden Montag eine Zusammenstellung interessanter Artikel, Diskussionen und Blogs aus den Bereichen Software Engineering, Digitalisierung und Karriere.

ansprechpartner

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

doris rupnow

training visibility marketeer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99