Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

icon – istqb software testing istqb software testing

Certified Tester help teams in companies to efficiently test newly developed software or new software releases for compliance with the requirements defined for their use and to measure the quality. Software defects are found reliably and at an early stage, and are fixed quickly and in a targeted manner. Customers and users thus receive sufficiently tested products that meet the respective requirements for functionality, security and cost-effectiveness. Various test strategies are intended to achieve a large test coverage with the smallest possible number of test cases. Our ISTQB training courses educate you in software testing and prepare you for the certification exam.

Become ISTQB certified tester

In its continuous industry-oriented education standard, the international non-profit association ISTQB (International Software Testing Qualifications Board) dedicates itself to the continuous improvement and development of the software testing profession. It maintains a course portfolio of Foundation, Advanced, and Expert level training courses and certification exams that are designed to provide software testers with a common set of best practices for their everyday work.

The "ISTQB Certified Tester" certificate has become a standard qualification for software testers in almost all industries. In our ISTQB courses we prepare you for your exam to become an ISTQB Certified Tester for the Foundation Level Exams as well as for all Advanced Level Exams. Our pass rates for the ISTQB Certified Tester exam are between 90 and 100 percent, depending on the ISTQB scheme. Please check for yourself - we are proud of the skills and knowledge of our trainers.

Overview ISTQB topics

Software testing topics highlighted in the ISTQB include:

  • Basics, terms, principles
  • The test process (planning, monitoring & control, analysis, design, realization, execution, completion)
  • Test design process
  • Test specification methods/test design procedures

(Black box test design method: Equivalence partitioning, boundary value analysis, decision table testing, condition-based test, use case-based test; 

White-box test design procedures: statement, decision and condition coverage).

  • Dynamic and static test techniques (static analysis, reviews)
  • Realize, execute and evaluate tests
  • Testing in the software lifecycle (test types, test levels, e.g. module/component testing, integration testing, system testing, acceptance testing)
  • Plan, prioritize and control tests
  • Setting up test teams, roles, qualifications
  • Test automation and tools
  • mobile testing
  • embedded testing
  • security testing

Terms from ISTQB Software Testing

Some particularly important terms that ISTQB testers should also be familiar with are:

test strategy

A systematic testing strategy (e.g. risk-based testing or specification-based testing) should consider the following aspects:

1. functionality of the software (correctness, completeness, appropriateness)

2. reliability (maturity, fault tolerance, reproducibility)

3. usability (understandability, learnability)

4. performance efficiency (performance, load, stress):

5. maintainability (how easily the software can be modified without limiting stability and testability, including compliance to coding guidelines and complexity metrics).

6. portability (how easily the software can be ported to another system, browser, operating system, data base, but also organizational portability)

7. security (authenticity, protection of data against unauthorized access, e.g. through data encryption)

8. compatibility (interoperability: how compatible is the software in processing data with and from other systems?; co-existence: systems do not negatively affect each other, e.g. resource conflicts).

If you wish to read more on agile testing strategies, read our blog post!

test design

The test strategy is used to create targeted test cases that adhere to and support specific criteria of the software under test. Based on the requirements of the system to be tested, the necessary test procedures are designed and the test data is compiled. Existing test plans and test specifications are reviewed, e.g. to increase test coverage.

The Syllabus teaches common test techniques, such as:

  • Black-box test design techniques: 
    • Equivalence partitioning, 
    • Boundary value analysis, 
    • Decision table testing, 
    • State-based testing, 
    • Use case based testing; 
  • White-box test design techniques (Statement, Decision and Condition coverage), 
  • Exploratory testing
  • Requirements based testing
  • Business process based testing
  • Static testing like reviews/inspections, code analysis

test management

Test management creates a cost-effective test strategy that plans the test effort along quality objectives, product and project risks. The test manager is responsible for controlling the test activities, coaching the test team, implementing the test plan effectively and efficiently, creating test and defect reports, and objectively evaluating the quality and release maturity of the product, because this information is an important contribution to the go-live decision by management. 

test automation

The automation of software tests should replace time-consuming manual testing and sustainably increase test efficiency: Accelerated execution, unlimited re-runnability and independence from test personnel are the benefits sought by this approach, for example in the case of frequently repeated regression tests. The right automation architecture helps to avoid high testing effort, high customization costs, lack of robustness and lack of transparency as well as wrong tooling decisions and high maintenance effort.

test types

A test type is focused on a specific test objective, such as reliability testing, regression testing, usability testing. The test type may also refer to one or more test levels or phases. Some examples taught by the ISTQB standard are:

  • Functional testing
  • Non-functional testing
  • Load and performance testing
  • Internationalization testing
  • Localization testing
  • Compatibility testing
  • Security testing
  • Usability testing
  • Documentation testing

Mobile Testing

Mobile first has arrived in software development - cell phones and tablets are already the main device for many users for private, on business trips or in the home office also for professional research and collaborative activities. Clear structures, intuitive usability, unlimited functionality, fast response times, low use of storage capacity, and energy efficiency are just a few of the keywords that have priority here. Given the diversity of end devices and platforms, a large number of different combinatorial scenarios arise, which pose major challenges for software quality assurance and software testing.

trendig has a Mobile App Testlab ready for this purpose and has co-written a book on the subject in German language: Basiswissen Mobile App Testing ISBN 978-3-86490-748-7. You can read an interview with our colleague and book co-author Björn on our blog!

ISTQB Certification

The »ISTQB Certified Tester« programme is a globally recognised, manufacturer- and product-independent, standardised education and training scheme for software testers. Software testing is to be professionalised and institutionalised as part of quality management as a structured and planned process of validation and verification of software products. The job description of the software tester includes knowledge and techniques that enable a structured and systematic approach to checking and testing software. In this way, the quality of software can be secured or increased in the long term and costs can be saved in the development process.

More than one million ISTQB Certified Testers have already been trained and certified worldwide. The training scheme is aimed at software experts from all sectors (automotive industry, financial services, medical technology, telecommunications, public administration, etc.) and is currently divided into the Core area with the Foundation Level (1 module), Advanced Level (3 modules) and Expert Level (2 modules) certifications, which build on one another, as well as further modules in different areas, the so-called Agile and Specialist modules..

Trendig offers almost all seminars of the ISTQB Certified Tester programme as public seminars in Berlin or Hamburg oder all over Germany or as online courses worldwide. We teach in German, English, Spanish and Dutch. trendig can also customize all offers to the needs of our customers and their everyday challenges in project work.

You can read more about ISTQB certification in our blog interview!

ISTQB examination

The examination to become an "ISTQB Certified Tester" can be taken after the training either on-site immediately or as an online examination at home or in a test centre. For the latter, training participants need an ISTQB examination voucher, which trendig is happy to request from the independent certification institute for each course participant. Some prefer to take the exam directly after the training, because at that point what they have learned is still fresh in their minds, others prefer to separate the training and the exam in order to have more time for individual ISTQB exam preparation. Trendig supports both forms and offers coaching and support beyond the classroom training.

The exams are conducted by an independent certification company authorised by the ISTQB. The exams for "ISTQB Certified Tester - Foundation Level" and "ISTQB Certified Tester - Advanced Level" are multiple-choice tests and cover the entire syllabus content. The duration of the Foundation Level exam is 60 minutes. The exam duration for the Advanced Level and Specialist certifications ranges from 60 to 180 minutes. Non-native speakers can apply for an extension of the exam duration. To pass the exam, a minimum of 65% of the maximum score must be achieved. The pass rates for participants of trendigs ISTQB courses have been above 90% for all ISTQB certifications for years.

Prerequisite for the examination for the "ISTQB Certified Tester: Advanced Level" is the passed examination for the "ISTQB Certified Tester - Foundation Level" and proof of at least 18 months of experience in the field of software testing (confirmation from the employer or reference customers).

After passing the exam once, the ISTQB certificate is valid for life, a later recertification is not necessary. Nevertheless, refreshing knowledge can't hurt; trendig offers bootcamp courses for repeaters.

You can read about how you can best prepare for the ISTQB exam outside of the training in our blog post.

newsletter – bulletin

contact persons

Photo of steffen flegel

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
Photo of sabrina horn

sabrina horn

training services maestra +49 30 747628-0
Photo of bettina schoch

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

icon – istqb software testing istqb software testing

Certified Tester helfen Teams in Unternehmen, neu entwickelte Software oder neue Software-Releases auf Erfüllung der für ihren Einsatz definierten Anforderungen effizient zu testen und die Qualität zu messen. Softwarefehler werden zuverlässig und frühzeitig gefunden und solche Bugs zielgerichtet und schnell behoben. Kunden und Anwender erhalten so ausreichend getestete Produkte, die die jeweiligen Anforderungen an Funktionalität, Sicherheit und Wirtschaftlichkeit erfüllen. Verschiedene Teststrategien sollen mit einer möglichst geringen Anzahl von Testfällen eine große Testabdeckung erreichen. Unsere ISTQB-Schulungen bilden dich im Software Testing aus und bereiten dich auf die Zertifizierungsprüfung vor.

ISTQB Certified Tester werden

Das ISTQB (International Software Testing Qualifications Board) ist eine international agierende non-profit Vereinigung, die sich der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung und Weiterentwicklung des Berufsbildes Software-Tester verschrieben hat. Es pflegt in seinem industrienahen Weiterbildungsstandard ein Kursportfolio aus Foundation-, Advanced- und Expert-Level-Schulungen und Zertifizierungsprüfungen, die Software-Testern ein gemeinsames Best Practices-Wissen für ihren Berufsalltag vermitteln sollen.

Das Zertifikat „ISTQB Certified Tester“ ist mittlerweile ein Standard-Nachweis der Qualifizierung von Software-Testern in nahezu allen Branchen. Wir bereiten Dich in unseren ISTQB-Kursen optimal auf Deine Prüfung zum ISTQB Certified Tester sowohl für die Foundation Level Exams als auch in allen Advanced Level Exams vor. Unsere Bestehensquoten für das ISTQB Certified Tester Exam liegen je nach ISTQB Schema zwischen 90 und 100 Prozent. Überzeuge Dich gern selbst - wir sind stolz auf das Können und Wissen unserer Trainer*innen.

Überblick ISTQB-Inhalte

Im ISTQB beleuchtete Themenfelder des Softwaretests sind:

  • Grundlagen, Begriffe, Prinzipien
  • Der Testprozess (Planung, Überwachung & Steuerung (inkl. Endebewertung & Bericht), Analyse, Entwurf, Realisierung, Durchführung, Abschluss)
  • Testentwurfsprozess
  • Testspezifikationsmethoden/Testentwurfsverfahren

(Black-Box-Testentwurfsverfahren: Äquivalenzklassenmethode, Grenzwertanalyse, Entscheidungstabellentest, Zustandsbasierter Test, Anwendungsfallbasierter Test;

White-Box-Testentwurfsverfahren: Anweisungsüberdeckung, Entscheidungsüberdeckung und Bedingungsüberdeckung)

  • Dynamische und statische Testtechniken (Statische Analyse, Reviews)
  • Tests realisieren, durchführen und bewerten
  • Testen im Software-Lebenszyklus (Testarten, Teststufen, z.B. Modul- und Komponententest, Integrationstest, Systemtest, Abnahmetest)
  • Tests planen, priorisieren und steuern
  • Testteams aufbauen, Rollen, Qualifikationen
  • Testautomatisierung und Tools
  • Mobile Testing
  • Embedded Testing
  • Security Testing

Begriffe aus dem ISTQB

Einige besonders wichtige Begriffe, mit denen ISTQB-Tester vertraut sein sollten, sind:

Teststrategie

Eine systematische Teststrategie (z.B. risikobasiertes Testen oder spezifikationsbasiertes Testen) sollte folgende Aspekte berücksichtigen:

1. Funktionalität der Software (Richtigkeit, Angemessenheit, Vollständigkeit)

2. Zuverlässigkeit (Reife, Fehlertoleranz, Wiederherstellbarkeit)

3. Bedienbarkeit (Verständlichkeit, Erlernbarkeit)

4. Leistungseffizienz (Performance, Last, Stress)

5. Wartbarkeit (Wie leicht lässt sich die Software modifizieren, ohne dass die Stabilität und Prüfbarkeit eingeschränkt werden, inkl. Einhaltung von Programmierrichtlinien und Komplexitätsbewertung)

6. Übertragbarkeit (Wie leicht lässt sich die Software auf ein anderes System portieren: System, Browser, Betriebssystem, Datenbank und auch organisatorische Portierbarkeit)

7. Sicherheit (Authentizität, Schutz der Daten vor nicht autorisiertem Zugriff z.B. durch Datenverschlüsselung)

8. Kompatibilität (Interoperabilität: Wie kompatibel ist die Software bei der Verarbeitung von Daten mit und von anderen Systemen?; Ko-Existenz: Systeme beeinflussen sich gegenseitig nicht negativ, z.B. Ressourcenkonflikte)

Mehr zum Thema agile Teststrategie findest Du in unserem Blog!

Test Design

Anhand der Teststrategie werden gezielt Testfälle erstellt, die bestimmte Kriterien der zu testenden Software einhalten und unterstützen. Ausgehend von den Requirements an das zu testende System werden die notwendigen Testprozeduren konzipiert und die Testdaten dazu zusammengestellt. Bereits vorhandene Testpläne und Testspezifikationen werden überprüft, um z.B. die Testabdeckung zu erhöhen.

Der Syllabus lehrt gängige Testtechniken, wie z.B.:

  • Black-Box-Testentwurfsverfahren: 
    • Äquivalenzklassenbildung, 
    • Grenzwertanalyse, 
    • Entscheidungstabellentest, 
    • zustandsbasierter Test, 
    • Anwendungsfallbasierter Test; 
  • White-Box-Testentwurfsverfahren (Anweisungsüberdeckung, Entscheidungsüberdeckung und Bedingungsüberdeckung)
  • Exploratives Testen
  • Anforderungsbasiertes Testen
  • Geschäftsprozessbasiertes Testen
  • Statische Tests wie Reviews/Inspektionen, Code Analyse

Test Management

Das Testmanagement erstellt eine wirtschaftliche Teststrategie, die den Testaufwand entlang der Qualitätsziele, Produkt- und Projektrisiken plant. Das Steuern der Testaktivitäten, das Coachen des Testteams, die effektive und effiziente Umsetzung des Testplans, das Erstellen der Test- und Fehlerberichte sowie die objektive Bewertung der Qualität und Einsatzreife der Releases obliegt dem Testmanager, denn diese Information ist ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Go-Live-Entscheidung durch das Management. 

Testautomatisierung

Die Automatisierung von Softwaretests soll zeitaufwändiges manuelles Testen ablösen und die Testeffizienz nachhaltig steigern: Beschleunigte Ausführung, uneingeschränkte Wiederholbarkeit und die Unabhängigkeit vom Testpersonal sind die angestrebten Vorteile dieses Vorgehens, zum Beispiel bei häufig zu wiederholenden Regressionstests. Die richtige Automatisierungsarchitektur hilft dabei, hohen Testaufwand, hohe Anpassungskosten, fehlende Robustheit und mangelnde Transparenz sowie Tooling-Fehlentscheidungen und hohen Wartungsaufwand zu vermeiden.

Testarten

Eine Testart ist auf ein bestimmtes Testziel fokussiert, wie z.B. Zuverlässigkeitstest, Regressionstest, Gebrauchstauglichkeitstest. Die Testart kann sich auf eine oder mehrere Teststufen oder -phasen beziehen. Einige Beispiele, die der ISTQB-Standard lehrt, sind:

  • Funktionaler Test
  • Nichtfunktionaler Test
    • Last- und Performance-Tests
    • Internationalisierungstest (I18N)
    • Lokalisierungstest (L10N)
    • Kompatibilitätstest
    • Security Test
    • Usability Test
    • Test der Dokumentation

Mobile Testing

Mobile first ist in der Softwareentwicklung angekommen - Mobiltelefone und Tablets sind für viele Nutzer schon das Hauptgerät bei der privaten, auf Dienstreisen oder im Homeoffice auch bei der beruflichen Recherche und kollaborativen Tätigkeiten. Klare Strukturen, intuitive Bedienbarkeit, uneingeschränkte Funktionalität, schnelle Reaktionszeiten, wenig Speicherplatzbedarf und Energieeffizienz sind nur einige Schlagworte, die hier Priorität haben. Vor dem Hintergrund einer Mannigfaltigkeit von Endgeräten und Plattformen ergeben sich eine Vielzahl verschiedener kombinatorischer Szenarien, die die Softwarequalitätssicherung und den Softwaretest vor große Herausforderungen stellt.

trendig hält hierfür ein Mobile App Testlab bereit und hat ein Buch zum Thema mitgeschrieben: Basiswissen Mobile App Testing ISBN 978-3-86490-748-7. Ein Interview mit unserem Kollegen und Buchmitautor Björn kannst Du in unserem Blog lesen!

ISTQB Zertifizierung

Das »ISTQB Certified Tester«-Programm ist ein weltweit anerkanntes, hersteller- und produktunabhängiges, standardisiertes Aus- und Weiterbildungsschema für Softwaretester. Softwaretesting soll hierdurch professionalisiert und als Teil des Qualitätsmanagements als strukturierter und geplanter Prozess der Validierung und Verifikation von Software-Produkten institutionalisiert werden. Das Berufsbild des Softwaretesters umfasst Kenntnisse und Techniken, die zu einem strukturierten und systematischen Vorgehen beim Prüfen und Testen von Software befähigen. So können die Qualität von Software langfristig gesichert oder gesteigert und Kosten im Entwicklungsprozess eingespart werden.

Weltweit sind bereits über eine Million ISTQB Certified Tester geschult und zertifiziert. Das Ausbildungsschema richtet sich an Softwarefachleute aus allen Branchen (Automobilindustrie, Finanzdienstleistung, Medizintechnik, Telekommunikation, öffentliche Verwaltung etc.) und gliedert sich aktuell in den Core Bereich mit den aufeinander aufbauenden Zertifizierungen Foundation Level (1 Modul), Advanced Level (3 Module) und Expert Level (2 Module) sowie weitere Module in verschiedenen Bereichen, die sogenannten Agile und Specialist Module.

Trendig bietet fast alle Seminare des ISTQB Certified Tester Programms als öffentliche Präsenz-Seminare in Berlin oder Hamburg oder deutschlandweit oder als Online-Kurse weltweit an. Wir lehren auf Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch und Niederländisch. Sämtliche Angebote können wir auch auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden und deren alltägliche Herausforderungen im Projektalltag anpassen.

Mehr zur ISTQB-Zertifizierung kannst Du in unserem Blog-Interview lesen!

ISTQB Prüfung

Die Prüfung zum "ISTQB Certified Tester" kann im Anschluss an die jeweilige Schulung wahlweise gleich vor Ort oder aber als Online-Prüfung zu Hause oder in einem Testcenter abgelegt werden. Für letzteres benötigen die Trainingsteilnehmer ein ISTQB-Prüfungs-Voucher, das trendig gern beim unanhängigen Zertifizierungsinstitut für jeden Kursteilnehmer anfordert. Einige bevorzugen die Prüfung direkt nach dem Training, weil dann das Erlernte noch frisch im Kopf ist, andere wünschen die zeitliche Trennung von Schulung und Prüfung, um mehr Zeit für die individuelle ISTQB-Prüfungsvorbereitung zu haben. Beide Formen unterstützt trendig und bietet über das Training hinausgehendes Coaching und Unterstützung an.

Die Prüfungen werden von einem durch das ISTQB autorisierten Zertifizierungsunternehmen durchgeführt. Die Prüfung zum "ISTQB Certified Tester – Foundation Level" und "ISTQB Certified Tester – Advanced Level" sind Multiple-Choice-Tests und umfassen den gesamten Lehrstoff des Lehrplaninhalts. Prüfungsdauer für das Foundation Level sind 60 Minuten. Die Prüfungsdauer für das Advanced Level und Specialist-Zertifizierungen liegen zwischen 60 bis hin zu 180 Minuten. Nicht-Muttersprachler können eine Prüfungszeitverlängerung beantragen. Um die Prüfung zu bestehen, müssen mindestens 65% der maximalen Punktzahl erreicht werden. Die Bestehensquoten für Teilnehmer von trendigs ISTQB-Kursen liegen für alle ISTQB-Zertifizierungen seit Jahren über 90%.

Voraussetzung für die Prüfung zum "ISTQB Certified Tester: Advanced Level" ist die bestandene Prüfung zum "ISTQB Certified Tester – Foundation Level" und der Nachweis von mindestens 18 Monaten Erfahrung im Bereich Softwaretesten (Bestätigung des Arbeitgebers oder von Referenzkunden).

Nach einmal bestandener Prüfung gilt das ISTQB-Zertifikat lebenslang, eine spätere Rezertifizierung ist nicht erforderlich. Trotzdem kann das Auffrischen von Wissen nicht schaden, trendig bietet für Wiederholer Bootcamp-Kurse an.

Wie Du Dich außerhalb der Schulung optimal auf die ISTQB-Prüfung vorbereitest, kannst Du in unserem Blog-Beitrag nachlesen.

newsletter – wochenpost

ansprechpartner

Foto von steffen flegel

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
Foto von sabrina horn

sabrina horn

training services maestra +49 30 747628-0
Foto von bettina schoch

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0 bettina-schoch