Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

innovation & design sprints

Design sprints are one of the innovation methods that help to develop new ideas for new products and services quickly, in a resource-saving manner and with little entrepreneurial risk. For established companies, they are the key to being competitive on the market in the long term. Young companies and start-ups use this approach to position themselves in the market and reach their target groups. Design Sprints are also suitable within companies or any other kind of community where people live or work together to find new ways to solve various problems, challenges, structures and existing issues.

trendig has specialized in the facilitation of Design Sprints. trendig's team of experienced Design Sprint masters (in English "facilitators") lead the participants in the training sessions through a real project and let them experience an entire Sprint from the participant's point of view and work out an innovative solution. Along the way, they explain the theoretical basics of design thinking and agile working methods and explain how to get from a customer-tested prototype to implementation with the (software) development team by means of a well thought-out product vision.

how to facilitate design sprints

design sprint manual

In 2019, trendig has published a book about the experiences with Design Sprints in companies: The Design Sprint Handbook ISBN 978-3-86490-656-5. In this handbook, trendig's Design Sprint Masters explain step by step how to conduct a four-day Design Sprint as a Sprint Master and thus advance their own product development. The book guides the reader through the entire sprint, providing flowcharts, guidelines, and checklists that cover everything from preparing to executing to wrap-up a design sprint. In addition, the authors provide insights into their working methods and tips and hacks that they have gathered during their many years of work in design sprints.
 

design thinking

Design thinking is more of a mindset than an agile innovation method: It means a customer-oriented perspective in innovative creation processes of all kinds. And not only in software development. Form follows function or fail fast, fail early are keywords from this way of working. A design thinking process consists of several successive phases in which, starting from a challenge or a customer need, a diverse team tries to first understand the problem and observe the customer needs, find ideas, build a mock-up-like prototype (in software development usually a click dummy) and finally test it with real users. The length and scope of these phases are not predetermined! It is explicitly designed as an iterative approach and any number of new starts, even in early phases, to review or revise ideas.

design sprints - in a nutshell (definition)

Design sprints are a version of design thinking in which several design thinking techniques are performed with a team in five successive linear phases. At the end of this four or five days process, a prototype for a specific challenge is created and gets tested with five customers. In addition to phase orientation and speed (sprint), the framework is based on visual and haptic preparation (design) and the validation of ideas. Strict timeboxing (i.e., assigning fixed timelines in which certain work steps must be completed), meticulous preparation and an experienced Design Sprint Master are important for this approach.
trendig has published a book about its experiences with Design Sprints 2o19 with dpunkt-Verlag: Das Design Sprint Handbuch ISBN 978-3-86490-656-5.

lean startup methodology

Think big, but start small - that's the idea behind Lean Startup. Doing as much as necessary, but using as few human, financial and time resources as possible. If a team has an idea, it must turn it into a sufficiently functioning prototype as early as possible and test it with customers. Even though the method has "startup" in its name, it is suitable for almost all companies. After all, planning for the future, reacting in an agile manner to changes, being fast - these are the requirements of all companies today that are facing up to digitization and globalization and their disruptive transformation processes.  

minimum viable product (MVP)

The Minimum Viable Product (MVP) is a sufficiently functional version of a product, interface or service. It enables a business idea to be brought to market quickly and with minimal effort, and to test whether it meets the needs of users and later customers. Based on the feedback on this first version, further development steps can be adapted and resources can be aligned more specifically with customer requirements. This is often referred to as the build-measure-learn cycle (build: quickly develop a product and test it with customers. measure: measure what works and what needs improvement. learn: Incorporate what is learned from feedback into the next improved version).

product vision statement

A product vision statement describes the ideal product from the customer's point of view. Can the product optimally address their needs and solve existing problems for the customers? If so, this means a so-called problem-solution fit. A product vision is simply formulated and easy to understand. Clear actions are derived from it and the (development) team can assess whether it has sufficient competencies to create this product. Particularly in agile teams, the product vision is important in order to achieve an alignment focused on the end product, despite the autonomy of the individual employees. 

agile methods within software development

Wenn Du mehr über Scrum, Kanban, Lean Startup und Co wissen möchtest, dann schau auf unserer Website zu Agile Practices & Agile Testing vorbei.https://trendig.com/en/training/agile-methoden-agile-testing/

bulletin

Please register now and you will receive a compilation of interesting articles, discussions and blogs regarding software engineering, digitalization and career news every month.

contact persons

Photo of steffen flegel

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99
Photo of bettina schoch

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99
Photo of doris rupnow

doris rupnow

training visibility marketeer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

innovation & design sprints

Design Sprints sind eine der Innovationsmethoden, die dabei helfen, neue Ideen für neue Produkte und Dienstleistungen schnell, ressourcenschonend und mit wenig unternehmerischem Risiko zu entwickeln. Für etablierte Unternehmen sind sie der Schlüssel, um dauerhaft am Markt konkurrenzfähig zu sein. Junge Unternehmen und Start-Ups positionieren sich mit Hilfe dieser Vorgehen am Markt und erschließen ihre Zielgruppen. Design Sprints eignen sich aber auch innerhalb von Unternehmen oder jedweder anderer Art von Gemeinschaft, in der Menschen miteinander leben oder arbeiten, neue Wege für verschiedenste Probleme, Herausforderungen, Strukturen und Bestehendes zu finden.

trendig hat sich auf die Moderation von Design Sprints spezialisiert. trendigs Team aus erfahrenen Design-Sprint-Mastern (im Original “Facilitators”) führen die Teilnehmer in den Schulungen durch ein reales Projekt und lassen sie einen gesamten Sprint aus Teilnehmersicht erleben und eine innovative Lösung ausarbeiten. Nebenbei erklären sie die theoretischen Grundlagen des Design Thinking und agiler Arbeitsweisen und erklären, wie man mittels einer durchdachten Produktvision vom am Kunden getesteten Prototyp in die Umsetzung mit dem (Software-)Entwicklungsteam gelangt.

 

Design Sprints selbst moderieren

Design Sprint Handbuch

trendig hat über die Erfahrungen mit Design Sprints in Unternehmen 2019 ein Buch veröffentlicht: Das Design Sprint Handbuch ISBN 978-3-86490-656-5. trendigs Design Sprint Master erläutern in diesem Handbuch Schritt für Schritt, wie man als Sprint Master einen viertägigen Design Sprint durchführt und so die eigene Produktentwicklung voranbringt. Das Buch begleitet den Leser durch den gesamten Sprint, gibt Ablaufpläne, Guidelines und Checklisten vor, die von der Vorbereitung über die Durchführung bis hin zur Nachbereitung eines Design Sprints reichen. Zusätzlich geben die Autoren Einblicke in ihre Arbeitsweise und Tipps und Hacks, die sie bei ihrer langjährigen Arbeit in Design Sprints zusammengetragen haben.

 

Begriffe rund um innovatives Unternehmertum

Für das Arbeiten mit Innovationsmethoden aus dem Bereich Design Thinking und agile Methoden sind einige Begriffe wichtig, die Du kennen solltest:

Design Thinking

Design Thinking ist eher eine Grundhaltung als eine agile Innovationsmethode: Es bedeutet eine kundenorientierte Sichtweise in innovativen Entstehungsprozessen aller Art. Und das nicht nur in der Softwareentwicklung. Form follows function oder auch Fail fast, fail early sind Schlagwörter aus dieser Art zu arbeiten. Ein Design Thinking Prozess besteht aus mehreren aufeinanderfolgenden Phasen, in denen man von einer Herausforderung bzw. einem Kundenbedürfnis ausgehend mit einem diversen Team versucht, zunächst das Problem zu verstehen und die Kundenbedürfnisse zu beobachten, Ideen zu finden, einen kulissenartigen Prototyp (in der Softwareentwicklung meist Click-Dummy) zu bauen und diesen schlussendlich mit realen Nutzern zu testen. Länge und Umfang dieser Phasen sind dabei nicht vorbestimmt, das iterative Vorgehen und beliebig oft neue Ansetzen auch in frühen Phasen, um Ideen zu reviewen oder zu revidieren, ist dabei explizit vorgesehen.

Design Sprint - eine Definition

Design Sprints sind eine Variante des Design Thinking, bei der in fünf linear aufeinanderfolgenden Phasen mehrere Techniken des Design Thinking so mit einem Team abgearbeitet werden, dass in vier bis fünf Tagen ein Prototyp zu einer konkreten Herausforderung erstellt und mit fünf Endkunden getestet wird. Neben der Phasenorientierung und der Geschwindigkeit (Sprint) fußt das Framework also auf der visuellen und haptischen Aufbereitung (Design) und der Validierung von Ideen. Strenges Timeboxing (also das Zuweisen von festen Zeitvorgaben, in denen bestimmte Arbeitsschritte erledigt sein müssen), akribische Vorbereitung und ein erfahrener Design Sprint Master sind für dieses Vorgehen wichtig.

trendig hat über die Erfahrungen mit Design Sprints 2o19 ein Buch im dpunkt-Verlag veröffentlicht: Das Design Sprint Handbuch ISBN 978-3-86490-656-5.

Lean-Startup-Methode

Im großen Maßstab denken, aber mit kleinen Schritten anfangen – das ist die Idee hinter Lean Startup. So viel wie nötig tun, dabei aber so wenig wie möglich an menschlichen, finanziellen und zeitlichen Ressourcen einsetzen. Hat ein Team eine Idee, so muss es diese so früh wie möglich in einen ausreichend funktionierenden Prototyp überführen und mit Kunden testen. Auch wenn die Methode das “Startup” im Namen trägt, ist sie für fast alle Unternehmen geeignet. Denn für die Zukunft planen, agil auf Veränderungen reagieren, schnell sein – das müssen heutzutage alle Unternehmen, die sich der Digitalisierung und Globalisierung und deren disruptiven Transformationsprozessen stellen.  

Minimum Viable Product (MVP)

Das Minimum Viable Product (MVP) ist eine ausreichend funktionsfähige Version eines Produkts, einer Schnittstelle oder einer Dienstleistung. Es ermöglicht, eine Geschäftsidee schnell und mit minimalem Aufwand auf den Markt zu bringen und zu testen, ob sie die Bedürfnisse der Nutzer und späteren Kunden erfüllt. Anhand des Feedbacks zu dieser ersten Version können weitere Entwicklungsschritte angepasst erfolgen und Ressourcen zielgerichteter auf die Kundenwünsche abgestimmt werden. Man spricht in diesem Zusammenhang häufig auch vom Build-Measure-Learn-Zyklus (Build: schnell ein Produkt entwickeln und es mit Kunden testen. Measure: messen, was funktioniert und was verbessert werden muss. Learn: Das aus dem Feedback Erlernte in die nächste verbesserte Version einfließen lassen).

Produktvision

Eine Produktvision (oder „Product Vision Statement“) beschreibt das ideale Produkt aus Sicht der Kund*innen. Kann das Produkt deren Bedürfnisse optimal adressieren und bestehende Probleme für die Kund*innen lösen? Wenn ja, dann bedeutet das ein sogenanntes Problem-Solution-Fit. Eine Produktvision ist einfach formuliert und leicht verständlich. Aus ihr leiten sich klare Handlungen ab und das (Entwickler-)Team kann abschätzen, ob es über ausreichende Kompetenzen verfügt, dieses Produkt zu erstellen. Gerade in agil arbeitenden Teams ist die Produktvision wichtig, um bei aller Autonomie der einzelnen Mitarbeitenden ein auf das Endprodukt ausgerichtetes Alignment zu erzielen.

Agile Methoden in der Softwareentwicklung

Wenn Du mehr über Scrum, Kanban, Lean Startup und Co wissen möchtest, dann schau auf unserer Website zu agilen Methoden und agilem Softwaretesten vorbei. 

wochenpost

Melde dich jetzt an und bekomme jeden Montag eine Zusammenstellung interessanter Artikel, Diskussionen und Blogs aus den Bereichen Software Engineering, Digitalisierung und Karriere.

ansprechpartner

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

doris rupnow

training visibility marketeer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99