Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

agile practices & agile testing

Agile methods are the response to the increasing complexity and speed with which software development projects are implemented today and where responding to change is more important than following and fulfilling a plan. Agile methods always focus on people and their needs. Therefore, the priority of agile ways of working is working software with a focus on customer value, constant feedback loops and continuous improvement.
 
Due to this way of working, agile projects need to continuously test new or changed code blocks and their integration into the existing environment. This process, known as Continuous Integration, is a technique from Extreme Programming (XP) in which developers regularly merge all code changes into a central repository. In agile teams, agile testers implement rapid exploratory testing, reliable test automation (at the unit, integration, and system test levels), and Continuous Integration. 
 

Trainings with a lot of on-the-job experience

Agile workflow means: working in a team. Supporting each other. Estimating efforts together, finding solutions together. And in every project and in every team, this is different. That's why our agile trainings have no exam at the end, no certificate and without exception one focus: practice, practice, practice. How does it look like in your project? Which best practices can you try out with your team in the next sprint? trendig's goal is to help you get ahead in your day-to-day work. And we are also there for you and your challenges beyond the training. Check it out for yourself - we are proud of the coaching we offer through our trainers. 

agile methods overview

The foundations of agile ways of working is the "Agile Manifesto" from 2001, in which a group of 17 software developers formulated a set of agile values (and principles) aimed at improving software development:

  • Individuals and interactions over processes and tools
  • Working software over comprehensive documentation
  • Customer collaboration over contract negotiation
  • Responding to change over following a plan

This leads to principles that advocate a collaborative, iterative, and incremental approach that can address current needs as well as future needs. Iterative refers to an approach that repeats a process until a desired result is achieved. Ideally, only an initial functional version of a product component is developed. This must meet the identified needs without being perfect. It can be tested under real conditions and subsequently improved. Incremental refers to a step-by-step approach in which the project grows organically. This is in contrast to waterfall models, which progress a project linearly, i.e. define different phases with a start and end point.

The advantages of such an agile approach are:

  • Flexibility: Agile teams can react quickly to the unexpected and to newly discovered or emergent needs. The resulting effort is re-estimated by the team.
  • Real-time project progress transparency: the customer can make adjustments and view resource consumption throughout the project.
  • Regular exchanges create a high level of trust among team members and with the client(s), minimizing friction in day-to-day work.

terms from everyday agile work

Some terms and agile techniques are important for working in agile teams. Agile techniques are practices that have proven to be helpful in implementing agile values in daily work. We briefly explain some examples of best practices here: 

design thinking

Design thinking describes a mindset of agile working in which the customer and his needs are at the center of innovative design processes. You can find out more about this way of thinking and working under the heading "Innovation and Design Sprints" on our website.

CI & CD: Continuous Integration, Continuous Delivery, Continuous Deployment

Continuous Integration describes the continuous merging of existing with newly developed components in software development. Thanks to automated tests and static analyses of the software quality of the individual components as well as the entire product (unit test, integration test, system test), it can be ensured during the entire development that all newly added elements do not have a negative impact on the executability of the software and that no errors occur. 

Continuous Delivery (CD) is a further development of this continuous integration. In this process, a new version of the software is delivered at certain intervals or when a certain quality metric is achieved.

Continuous Deployment refers to the final provision of an automated software release pipeline according to the DevOps principle. In this process, changes made by developers to the source code directory of an application are automatically checked and released for the production environment. The software is always developed, so to speak, in such a way that it can be released by the manufacturer at any time and (continuously) delivered to the user.

DevOps & CustDevOps

DevOps refers to the collaboration of developers and IT operations in a team throughout the entire product lifecycle - from development (Dev) and testing to deployment and operation (Operations/Ops). Since DevOps is an ongoing process, it is visualized with an infinite loop. Although the phases appear to be incremental, the infinite loop shows that collaboration and iterative improvements are essential throughout the lifecycle. At trendy, we've advanced DevOps to CustDevOps because our customers need to be part of our team, too, and constant interaction with them is part of our successful product. CustDevOps is the constant iteration of Design Sprint (Cust/Customer view), Development (Dev) and Production (Operations/Ops).

Kanban (task boards)

Kanban boards or task boards are supposed to make workload and workflow visible. They are simple overview tables where tasks queued on (colored) cards move from a column on the left side of the board (not yet started) to the right side of the board (completed). The simplest division is a three-column one of ToDo, Doing, Done. Depending on the team size and complexity, additional columns are added, e.g. Backlog, ToDo, Doing, Test, Done. In addition, there are team-specific rules for the maximum number of tasks per column (so-called work in progress limits). So instead of starting a lot of tasks whose work status has to be checked again and again, teams can jointly estimate efforts and prioritize which and how many tasks have to be started and finished first before new tasks can be started.

Scrum

Scrum is an agile approach to project management in which there is no project management anymore, who distributes the tasks to the team members. In so-called sprints, which usually last two to four weeks, potentially deliverable products, so-called increments, are created, which are further developed with each subsequent sprint.
Scrum recognizes three roles: Product Owner (sets the technical requirements for the product, prioritizes the individual Product Backlog items and, when a story is completed, checks whether the increment meets the Definition of Done), Scrum Master (responsible for the smooth running of the Scrum process and supporting the team in achieving the sprint goals) and Development Team (responsible for implementation or development). All team members work independently, self-organized and have equal responsibility.
The Scrum process consists of several artifacts and ceremonies. The product owner keeps a list of requirements: the Product Backlog. Before each sprint, he decides which tasks will be implemented in the next iteration. In doing so, all requirements must be formulated in natural language and a few sentences according to the principle of "who am I and what do I want with what goal". This format is called user stories. The selected user stories are transferred to the so-called Sprint Backlog as selected for development during Sprint planning and disappear from the Product Backlog.
All user stories from the sprint backlog are discussed in a sprint planning meeting between the product owner and the development team. The Scrum Master moderates this meeting and ensures careful planning and the formulation of a Sprint Goal. Subsequently, the Development Team pulls tasks from the Sprint Backlog. In a daily 15-minute Daily Scrum Meeting, also called Daily Standup (since everyone involved completes it standing up), team members plan the day, update each other on the status of their respective task progress, any obstacles that have popped up, and express requests for help should anything stand in their way of completing their tasks. 
At the end of a Sprint, a Sprint Review and a Sprint Retrospective are conducted by the entire Scrum team:
The Sprint Review reflects on the past Sprint and serves to present the increment to the stakeholders and discuss the further roadmap with them. 
Afterwards, the sprint retrospective takes place in the development team with the Scrum Master present. With a view to the past sprint, problems encountered are discussed and successes celebrated. The retrospective serves to optimize the cooperation of the development team and to avoid repeating mistakes. Immediately after the retrospective, the next sprint begins until the product is completed.

Scaled Agile: SAFe & LeSS & Scrum of Scrums

The Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) is an established framework for applying Scrum or Agile in larger dimensions, i.e. for scaling. SAFe offers agile solutions for all levels of an organization: from teams to divisions to corporate management. For this, agile is targeted at a higher level of abstraction: The Program Increment. At this level, requirements are formulated, meetings are lived and work is performed on interlocking backlogs.
LeSS (Large Scale Scrum) is an extension of the roles, ceremonies and artifacts of the Scrum framework for organizing multiple Scrum teams. The goal of a LeSS implementation is to reduce complexity and maximize agile principles throughout an organization so that the most valuable work can always get done. LeSS particularly invokes trial and error through experimentation according to the motto: there are no best practices, there are only practices that are good in a given context. Therefore, LeSS provides enough tangibles to get started and enough flexibility to scale.
In most cases, however, a scaling framework is not necessary to coordinate the different teams and resolve dependencies. Especially when only a handful of teams  are working together on a product, these challenges can be solved through intense communication, or something more institutionalized, in the form of a Scrum of Scrums. A Scrum of Scrums is an additional ceremony in the context of a Sprint, where, often directly after the Daily Scrums of the teams, representatives from the individual teams meet to coordinate their plans and resolve dependencies.

Definition of Done (DoD)

According to the SCRUM approach, the DoD must clearly define the criteria according to which something is considered to have been sufficiently worked on. Possible criteria for the Definition of Done can be acceptance criteria of the user story, complete documentation of the increment, the agreed tests (unit, integration, system, non-functional tests) have been successfully executed, mobile responsiveness or similar. These criteria are already defined by the Scrum team in the first sprint and continuously adjusted. The Definition of Done is particularly important for the development team, because they deliver the finished increment (i.e., the increment that corresponds to the DoD) to the product owner.

Extreme Programming (XP)

Extreme Programming (XP) is an agile framework for software development that uses established software development techniques in a particular way: constant reviews, continuous testing, continuous design and redesign as well as constant feedback, short release cycles and the strong involvement of the customer or contractor. Extreme programming is particularly suitable for projects whose requirements change frequently and quickly. Basically, risks such as missed deadlines, escalating costs and low software quality should be minimized.
The five values of XP are communication (in the team and at eye level), simplicity ("What is the simplest thing that will work?"), feedback (recognizing opportunities for improvement, adapting procedures), courage (effective action even in personally challenging issues) and respect (objective and appreciative cooperation).

Collective Code Ownership

Collective Code Ownership is the explicit agreement among all team members that each has not only the right, but the obligation to make changes to the code as needed. This may be to complete a development task, fix a bug, or improve the code overall. The Boy Scout Rule is often cited in this context: Always leave the code you are working on in a better condition than you found it.

Pair Programming

Pair programming is a procedure in which two developers write code together on one computer; alternatively, it is also referred to as tandem programming. It is a very communicative, collaborative procedure, in which better code shall be achieved by mutual reviewing. One of the two developers writes the code and takes the role of the driver or pilot. The other thinks about the problem definition and the emerging solution, checks the written code and addresses things that strike him in the process. He takes over the role of the navigator or observer. Due to its positive teamwork effects, pair programming is also well suited for the training of less experienced developers by a mentor or for "pairing", in which two people of different skill backgrounds work together so that the joint product achieves a higher quality and both learn from and with each other.
 

test driven development (TDD)

Test-Driven Development is a practice from Extreme Programming that uses test cases to guide development. TDD is an iterative process in which the developer first writes an automated test case for the code to be implemented next. Of course, since no code has been written yet, this fails the first time it is executed (Red). After this, usually in a few short iterations, exactly enough code is developed so that the test case can be successfully executed (Green). 
Now the developer can adapt this part of the program without changing its functionality, since he can check this with the test case at any time. This allows him to improve the code, in particular to make it more maintainable and testable (refactoring). Once this is done, the process starts again.
The advantages of this approach are that only necessary code of higher quality is developed and extensive automated unit tests are available for every part of the system.
 

Acceptance Test Driven Development (ATDD) & Behaviour Driven Development (BDD)

Agile techniques that guide development from a functional perspective through test cases are Acceptance Test Driven Development and Behaviour Driven Development. The practices are closely related and differ only in details.
In these practices, the team details the requirements using examples from the real application domain. These examples can then be automated in the form of acceptance test cases and serve as a guide for the developers to implement the domain-specific functionalities.
Another advantage is that these test cases simultaneously represent the domain-oriented specification of the system and, due to their executability, never lose their topicality, i.e. they represent a "living" documentation of the system. 
 

Feature Driven Development (FDD)

Feature Driven Development is a lean project management method for developing software that delivers value. The basis of the framework is the assumption that a feature contains value for the customer.
At the beginning of an FDD project, a technical overall model for the system to be developed is first developed together with the stakeholders. In the second step, features are derived step by step from the overall model, with each feature corresponding to one step of the business activity to be supported.
These features are now planned individually and then first designed iteratively and incrementally and then developed and tested. The aim is to implement a feature in less than two weeks.

 

technical debt

Technical debt is the term used to describe future, additional effort resulting from the current delivery of - consciously or unconsciously - less than perfect agile software development products.

Retrospective

Retrospectives are team meetings in which, in a protected atmosphere, a retrospective assessment is made of what went well or less well in the previous teamwork and what can be learned from this for future collaboration. Agile methods rely on a regular, evolutionary improvement process in accordance with the "Inspect & Adapt" principle. Ideally, each sprint is followed by a retrospective with the entire team.

Feedback & Coaching

Through continuous feedback, teams can optimize their processes and incorporate customer feedback to improve the next release. External coaching, either selectively or tailored to a specific challenge, can also help agile teams to mirror their own working methods and receive valuable feedback for optimizing their own work. trendigs consultants are skilled and have many years of experience in supporting agile teams in their work in a way that values them and increases their success.

bulletin

Please register now and you will receive a compilation of interesting articles, discussions and blogs regarding software engineering, digitalization and career news every month.

contact persons

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

doris rupnow

training visibility marketeer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

agile methoden & agile testing

Agile Methoden sind die Antwort auf die zunehmende Komplexität und Geschwindigkeit, mit der Softwareentwicklungsprojekte heute umgesetzt werden und bei denen das Reagieren auf Veränderung wichtiger als das Befolgen und Erfüllen eines Plans ist. Agile Methoden stellen immer Menschen und ihre Bedürfnisse in den Mittelpunkt. Daher liegt die Priorität agiler Arbeitsweisen auf funktionierender Software mit dem Fokus auf den Kundennutzen, ständigen Feedbackschleifen und kontinuierlicher Verbesserung.

Aufgrund dieser Arbeitsweise müssen in agilen Projekten fortlaufend neue oder geänderte Codebausteine und deren Integration in die bestehende Umgebung getestet werden. Dieser als Continuous Integration bezeichnete Prozess ist ein Verfahren aus dem Extreme Programming (XP), bei der Entwickler alle Codeänderungen regelmäßig in einem zentralen Repository zusammenführen. In agilen Teams realisieren agile Tester schnelles exploratives Testen, eine zuverlässige Testautomatisierung (auf Unit-, Integrations- und Systemtest-Ebene) und Continuous Integration. 

 

Schulungen mit ganz viel Praxis

Agile arbeiten heißt: im Team arbeiten. Sich gegenseitig unterstützen. Gemeinsam Aufwände abschätzen, gemeinsam Lösungen finden. Und das sieht in jedem Projekt und in jedem Team anders aus. Daher haben unsere agilen Schulungen keine Prüfung am Ende, kein Zertifikat und ausnahmslos einen Fokus: Praxis, Praxis, Praxis. Wie sieht es in Deinem Projekt aus? Welche Best Practices kannst Du im nächsten Sprint mit Deinem Team ausprobieren? trendigs Anspruch ist, dass Du zurück im Arbeitsalltag weiterkommst. Und wir auch über die Schulung hinaus für Dich und Deine Herausforderungen da sind. Überzeuge Dich gern selbst - wir sind stolz auf das Coaching unserer Trainer*innen.

Überblick über agile Methoden

Die Grundlagen der heute als agile Methoden definierten Arbeitsweisen ist das „Agile Manifesto“ aus dem Jahr 2001. In diesem haben eine Gruppe von 17 Softwareentwicklern eine Reihe agiler Werte (und Prinzipien) formuliert, mit der die Softwareentwicklung verbessert werden soll:

  • Individuen und Interaktionen sind wichtiger als Prozesse und Tools
  • Funktionierende Software ist wichtiger als umfassender Dokumentation
  • Zusammenarbeit mit Kunden heißt mehr als nur Vertragsverhandlungen
  • Reagieren auf Veränderung ist wichtiger als das Befolgen eines Plans

Daraus folgend leiten sich Prinzipien ab, die ein kooperatives, iteratives und inkrementelles Vorgehen befürworten, das derzeitige genau wie zukünftige Bedürfnisse berücksichtigen kann. Mit iterativ ist ein Vorgehen gemeint, dass einen Prozess so lange wiederholt, bis ein gewünschtes Ergebnis erreicht ist. Idealerweise entwickelt man zunächst nur eine erste funktionale Version einer Produktkomponente. Diese muss den erkannten Bedürfnissen gerecht werden, ohne perfekt zu sein. Sie kann unter realen Bedingungen getestet und im Anschluss verbessert werden. Mit inkrementell ist ein Schritt-für-Schritt-Vorgehen gemeint, bei dem das Projekt organisch wächst. Dies steht Wasserfallmodellen entgegen, die ein Projekt linear fortschreiben, also verschiedene Phasen mit Start- und Endpunkt definieren.

Die Vorteile eines solchen agilen Vorgehens sind:

·   Flexibilität: Agile Teams können schnell auf Unvorhergesehenes und neu entdeckte oder entstandene Bedürfnisse reagieren. Der daraus entstehende Aufwand wird durch das Team neu geschätzt.

·   Transparenz des Projektfortschritts in Echtzeit: Der Kunde kann während des gesamten Projektes Anpassungen vornehmen und den Ressourcenverbrauch einsehen.

·   Durch den regelmäßigen Austausch entsteht ein großes Vertrauen zwischen den Teammitgliedern untereinander und mit dem/den Kunden, der Reibungsverluste in der täglichen Arbeit minimiert.

Begriffe aus dem agilen Arbeitsalltag

Für das Arbeiten in agilen Teams sind einige Begriffe und agile Techniken wichtig. Unter agilen Techniken versteht man Praktiken, die sich als hilfreich für die Umsetzung der agilen Werte in der täglichen Arbeit bewährt haben. Einige Beispiele für Best Practices erklären wir Dir hier kurz:

Design Thinking

Design Thinking beschreibt ein Mindset agilen Arbeitens, bei dem der Kunde und seine Bedürfnisse im Mittelpunkt innovativer Gestaltungsprozesse steht. Du findest mehr über diese Art des Denkens und Arbeitens unter dem Stichwort “Innovation und Design Sprints” auf unserer Website.

CI & CD: Continuous Integration, Continuous Delivery, Continuous Deployment

Continuous Integration beschreibt die fortlaufenden Zusammenführung von bestehenden mit neu-entwickelten Komponenten in der Softwareentwicklung. Dank automatisierter Tests und statischer Analysen zur Softwarequalität der einzelnen Bestandteile sowie des gesamten Produktes (Unittest, Integrationstest, Systemtest) kann während der gesamten Entwicklung sichergestellt werden, dass alle neu hinzugefügten Elemente sich nicht negativ auf die Lauffähigkeit der Software auswirken und sich keine Fehler einschleichen. 

Eine Weiterentwicklung dieser kontinuierlichen Integration stellt die Continuous Delivery (CD) dar. Dabei wird in bestimmten Intervallen oder bei Erreichen einer bestimmten Qualitätsmetrik eine neue Version der Software ausgeliefert.

Continuous Deployment bezeichnet die abschließende Bereitstellung einer automatisierten Software-Release-Pipeline nach dem DevOps-Prinzip. Dabei werden von Entwicklern durchgeführte Änderungen im Quellcodeverzeichnis einer Anwendung automatisch überprüft und für die Produktivumgebung freigegeben. Die Software wird sozusagen immer so entwickelt, dass sie jederzeit vom Hersteller freigegeben und (kontinuierlich) an den Nutzer ausgeliefert werden kann. 

DevOps & CustDevOps

Mit DevOps bezeichnet man die Zusammenarbeit von Entwicklern und IT-Operations in einem Team während des gesamten Produktlebenszyklus’ - von der Entwicklung (Dev) nebst Test bis hin zu Deployment und Betrieb (Operations/Ops). Da es sich bei DevOps um einen fortlaufenden Prozess handelt, wird dieser mit einer Endlosschleife verbildlicht. Auch wenn die Phasen anscheinend schrittweise ablaufen, zeigt die Endlosschleife, dass während des gesamten Lebenszyklus Zusammenarbeit und iterative Verbesserungen unerlässlich sind. Bei trendig haben wir DevOps zu CustDevOps weiterentwickelt, denn auch unsere Kunden müssen Teil unseres Teams sein und der ständige Austausch mit ihnen Teil unseres erfolgreichen Produktes. CustDevOps ist die beständige Iteration aus Design Sprint (Cust/Customer-Sicht), Entwicklung (Dev) und Produktion (Operations/Ops).

Kanban Boards

Kanban-Boards oder Task-Boards sollen Arbeitslast (Workload) und Arbeitsfortschritt (Workflow) sichtbar machen. Es sind einfache Übersichts-Tabellen, bei denen auf (farbigen) Karten anstehende Aufgaben von einer Spalte auf der linken Seite des Boards (noch nicht begonnen) hin zur rechten Seite des Boards (fertiggestellt) wandern. Die einfachste Unterteilung ist eine dreispaltige aus ToDo, Doing, Done. Je nach Teamgröße und Komplexität kommen weitere Spalten hinzu, z.B. Backlog, ToDo, Doing, Test, Done. Hinzu kommen Team-spezifische Regeln zur maximalen Menge von Aufgaben pro Spalte (sogenannte Work in Progress Limits). Statt also jede Menge Aufgaben anzufangen, deren Arbeitsstatus immer wieder erfragt werden muss, können Teams gemeinsam Aufwände abschätzen und priorisieren, welche und wie viele Tasks zunächst begonnen und beendet werden müssen, bevor neue Aufgaben angefangen werden können.

 

Scrum

Scrum ist eine agile Methodik im Bereich Projektmanagement, in der es keine Projektleitung mehr gibt, welche die Aufgaben an die Teammitglieder verteilt. In sogenannten Sprints, die meist zwei bis vier Wochen dauern, werden potentiell auslieferbare Produkte, sogenannte Inkremente, erstellt, die mit jedem weiteren Sprint weiterentwickelt werden.

Scrum kennt drei Rollen: Product Owner (stellt die fachlichen Anforderungen an das Produkt, priorisiert die einzelnen Product Backlog Items und prüft bei Fertigstellung einer Story, ob das Inkrement der Definition of Done entspricht), Scrum Master (verantwortlich für den störungsfreien Ablauf des Scrum-Prozesses und die Unterstützung des Teams bei der Erreichung der Sprint-Ziele) und Development Team/Entwicklungsteam (für die Umsetzung bzw. Entwicklung verantwortlich). Alle Teammitglieder arbeiten eigenverantwortlich, selbstorganisiert und gleichberechtigt.

Der Scrumprozess besteht aus mehreren Artefakten und Zeremonien. Der Product Owner führt eine Liste mit Anforderungen: den Product Backlog. Er legt vor jedem Sprint fest, welche Aufgaben in der nächsten Iteration umgesetzt werden. Dabei müssen alle Anforderungen in natürlicher Sprache und wenigen Sätzen nach dem Prinzip „wer bin ich und was will ich mit welchem Ziel“ ausformuliert sein. Dieses Format nennt man User Stories. Die ausgewählten User Stories werden im Rahmen der Sprintplanung in das sogenannte Sprint Backlog als selected for development übernommen und verschwinden aus dem Product Backlog.

Alle User Stories aus dem Sprint Backlog werden in einem Sprint Planning Meeting zwischen Product Owner und Development Team besprochen. Der Scrum Master moderiert dieses Meeting und stellt die sorgfältige Planung und die Formulierung eines Sprint-Ziels sicher. Im Anschluss zieht sich das Development Team Aufgaben aus dem Sprint Backlog. In einem täglichen, 15-minütigen Daily-Scrum-Meeting, auch Daily Standup genannt (da alle Beteiligten dieses im Stehen absolvieren), planen die Teammitglieder den Tag, informieren sich die gegenseitig zum Status ihres jeweiligen Aufgabenfortschritts, entstandener Hindernisse und äußern Hilfegesuche, sollte ihnen bei der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben etwas im Weg stehen. 

Am Ende eines Sprints werden ein Sprint Review und eine Sprint Retrospektive durch das gesamte Scrum-Team durchgeführt:

Der Sprint Review reflektiert den vergangenen Sprint und dient dazu, das Inkrement den Stakeholdern vorzustellen und über die weitere Roadmap mit ihnen zu diskutieren. 

Im Anschluss findet die Sprint-Retrospektive im Development-Team unter Anwesenheit des Scrum Masters statt. Mit Blick auf den vergangenen Sprint werden aufgetretene Probleme erörtert und Erfolge gefeiert. Die Retrospektive dient dazu, die Zusammenarbeit des Development Teams zu optimieren und Fehler nicht zu wiederholen. Unmittelbar nach der Retrospektive beginnt der nächste Sprint bis hin zur Fertigstellung des Produktes.

Scaled Agile: SAFe & LeSS & Scrum of Scrums

Das Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) ist ein etabliertes Rahmenwerk, um Scrum bzw. Agilität in größeren Dimensionen anzuwenden, also zu skalieren. SAFe bietet agile Lösungen für alle Ebenen einer Organisation: von Teams über Bereiche bis hin zur Unternehmenssteuerung. Hierfür wird Agilität auf einer höheren Abstraktionsebene angestrebt: Das Programm-Inkrement. Auf dieser Ebene werden dann Anforderungen formuliert, Meetings gelebt und an ineinandergreifenden Backlogs gearbeitet.

LeSS (Large Scale Scrum) ist eine Erweiterung der Rollen, Zeremonien und Artefakte des Scrum Frameworks für die Organisation mehrerer Scrum Teams. Ziel einer LeSS-Implementierung ist die Reduktion von Komplexität und die Maximierung von Agilität einer Organisation, damit immer die werthaltigste Arbeit erledigt werden kann. LeSS beruft sich besonders auf das Ausprobieren durch Experimente nach der Devise: Es gibt keine Best Practices, es gibt nur Praktiken, die in einem bestimmten Kontext gut sind. Daher bietet LeSS genug Konkretes um anzufangen und genug Flexibilität, um zu skalieren.

In den meisten Fällen ist allerdings ein Skalierungsframework nicht nötig, um die verschiedenen Teams zu koordinieren und Abhängigkeiten aufzulösen. Insbesondere wenn nur ca. eine Handvoll Teams zusammen an einem Produkt arbeitet können diese Herausforderungen durch intensive Kommunikation, oder etwas institutionalisierter, in Form eines Scrum of Scrums gelöst werden. Ein Scrum of Scrums ist eine zusätzliche Zeremonie im Rahmen eines Sprints, bei der, häufig direkt im Anschluss an die Daily Scrums der Teams, Vertreter aus den einzelnen Teams zusammenkommen, um ihre Planungen abzustimmen und Abhängigkeiten aufzulösen.

Definition of Done (DoD)

Nach dem SCRUM-Vorgehen muss in der DoD klar definiert sein, nach welchen Kriterien etwas als ausreichend bearbeitet gilt. Mögliche Kriterien für die Definition of Done können Akzeptanzkriterien der User Story, eine vollständige Dokumentation des Inkrements, die vereinbarten Tests (Unit-, Integrations-, System-, nicht-funktionale Tests) wurden erfolgreich ausgeführt, Mobile Responsivität o.ä. sein. Diese Kriterien werden vom Scrum-Team bereits im ersten Sprint festgelegt und fortlaufend angepasst. Die Definition of Done ist besonders für das Entwicklungsteam von Bedeutung, denn dieses liefert das fertige (also das der DoD entsprechende) Inkrement an den Product Owner.

Extreme Programming (XP)

Extreme Programming (XP) ist ein agiles Framework für die Softwareentwicklung, das bewährte Techniken der Softwareentwicklung auf eine bestimmte Art einsetzt:  Stetige Reviews, fortwährendes Testen, kontinuierliches Design und Redesign sowie stetiges Feedback, kurze Releasezyklen und die starke Einbeziehung des Kunden oder Auftragnehmers. Insbesondere für Projekte, deren Anforderungen sich oft und schnell ändern, ist das Extreme Programming geeignet. Grundsätzlich sollen Risiken wie Terminüberschreitungen, ausufernde Kosten und geringe Softwarequalität minimiert werden.

Die fünf Werte von XP sind Kommunikation (im Team und auf Augenhöhe), Einfachheit (“Was ist das Einfachste, was funktionieren wird?”), Feedback (Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten erkennen, Vorgehensweisen anpassen), Mut (effektives Handeln auch in persönlich herausfordernden Fragestellungen) und Respekt (sachliches und wertschätzendes Miteinander).

Collective Code Ownership

Unter Collective Code Ownership versteht man die ausdrückliche Vereinbarung unter allen Teammitgliedern, dass jede und jeder nicht nur das Recht, sondern die Pflicht hat, bei Bedarf Änderungen am Code vorzunehmen. Dabei kann es darum gehen, eine Entwicklungsaufgabe abzuschließen, einen Fehler zu beheben oder den Code insgesamt zu verbessern. In diesem Zusammenhang wird oft die Pfadfinder-Regel (“Boy Scout Rule”) zitiert: Hinterlasse den Code, den Du bearbeitest, immer in besserem Zustand, als Du ihn vorgefunden hast.

Pair-Programming

Das Pair Programming ist ein Vorgehen, bei dem zwei Entwickler an einem Computer gemeinsam Code schreiben, man spricht alternativ auch von Tandem Programming. Es ist ein sehr kommunikatives, kollaboratives Vorgehen, bei dem besserer Code durch das gegenseitige Reviewen erreicht werden soll. Einer der beiden Entwickler schreibt den Code und nimmt dabei die Rolle des Drivers bzw. Pilots ein. Der andere denkt über die Problemstellung und entstehende Lösung nach, kontrolliert den geschriebenen Code und spricht Dinge an, die ihm dabei auffallen. Er übernimmt die Rolle des Navigators bzw. Observers. Pair Programming eignet sich aufgrund seiner positiven Teamarbeits-Effekte auch gut für die Einarbeitung von weniger erfahrenen Entwicklern durch einen Mentor oder für das “Pairing”, bei dem zwei Personen unterschiedlicher Skill-Herkunft miteinander zusammenarbeiten, damit das gemeinsame Produkt eine höhere Qualität erreicht und beide von- und miteinander lernen.

 

Testgetriebene Softwareentwicklung (TDD)

Test-Driven Development ist eine Praktik aus dem Extreme Programming, bei der Testfälle dazu genutzt werden, die Entwicklung zu leiten. TDD ist ein iterativer Prozess, in welchem der Entwickler zunächst einen automatisierten Testfall für den als nächstes umzusetzenden Code schreibt. Dieser schlägt natürlich, da ja noch kein Code geschrieben wurde, bei der ersten Ausführung fehl (Red). Hiernach wird, meist in einigen wenigen kurzen Iterationen, genau so viel Code entwickelt, dass der Testfall erfolgreich durchgeführt werden kann (Green). 

Nun kann der Entwickler diesen Teil des Programms anpassen ohne seine Funktionalität zu verändern, da er dies mit dem Testfall jederzeit prüfen kann. Dies ermöglicht es ihm den Code zu verbessern, insbesondere ihn wartbarer und testbarer zu gestalten (Refactoring). Sobald dies geschehen ist, beginnt der Prozess von Neuem.

Vorteile dieses Vorgehens liegen darin, dass nur notwendiger Code von höherer Qualität entwickelt wird und für jeden Teil des Systems umfangreiche automatisierte Unit-Tests vorliegen.

 

Acceptance Test Driven Development (ATDD) & Behaviour Driven Development (BDD)

Agile Techniken, die die Entwicklung aus fachlicher Sicht durch Testfälle anleiten, sind Acceptance Test Driven Development und Behaviour Driven Development. Die Praktiken sind eng miteinander verwandt und unterscheiden sich nur in Details.

Bei diesen Vorgehensweisen detailliert das Team die Anforderungen mit Hilfe von Beispielen aus der realen Anwendungsdomäne. Diese Beispiele können danach in Form von Akzeptanztestfällen automatisiert werden und dienen den Entwicklern als Leitschnur zur Umsetzung der fachlichen Funktionalitäten.

Ein weiterer Vorteil liegt darin, dass diese Testfälle gleichzeitig die fachliche Spezifikation des Systems darstellen und diese, aufgrund der Ausführbarkeit, niemals ihre Aktualität verliert, also eine “lebende” Dokumentation des Systems darstellt. 

 

Feature Driven Development (FDD)

Feature Driven Development ist eine schlanke Projektmanagementmethode zur Entwicklung werthaltiger Software. Grundlage des Frameworks ist die Annahme, dass ein Feature Wert für den Kunden enthält.

Zu Beginn eines FDD-Projekts wird zunächst ein fachliches Gesamtmodell für das zu entwickelnde System zusammen mit den Stakeholdern entwickelt. Im zweiten Schritt werden aus dem Gesamtmodell schrittweise Features abgeleitet, wobei ein Feature einem Schritt der zu unterstützenden Geschäftstätigkeit entspricht.

Diese Features werden nun einzeln geplant und danach iterativ und inkrementell zunächst entworfen und dann entwickelt und getestet. Dabei wird versucht, die Realisierung eines Features in unter zwei Wochen zu schaffen.

 

Technische Schulden

Als technische Schulden bezeichnet man zukünftige, zusätzliche Aufwände, die aus der aktuellen Lieferung von – bewusst oder unbewusst – nicht perfekten Produkten agiler Software-Entwicklung entstehen.

Retrospektive

Retrospektiven sind Teamtreffen, bei denen in geschützter Atmosphäre rückblickend (“retrospektiv”) gemeinsam bewertet werden soll, was in der vorangegangenen Teamarbeit gut oder weniger gut gelaufen ist und was sich daraus für die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit lernen lässt. Agile Methoden setzen auf einen regelmäßigen, evolutionären Verbesserungsprozess gemäß des „Inspect & Adapt“-Prinzips (Prüfen & Anpassen). Idealerweise folgt auf jeden Sprint eine Retrospektive mit dem gesamten Team.

Feedback & Coaching

Durch kontinuierliches Feedback können Teams ihre Prozesse optimieren und Kundenrückmeldungen einbeziehen, um den nächsten Release zu verbessern. Auch ein punktuelles oder für eine bestimmte Herausforderung maßgeschneidertes externes Coaching kann agilen Teams helfen, die eigenen Arbeitsweisen gespiegelt zu bekommen und wertvolles Feedback für Optimierungen der eigenen Arbeit zu erhalten. trendigs Consultants sind geübt und haben langjährige Erfahrung, um agile Teams in ihrer Arbeit wertschätzend und erfolgssteigernd zu begleiten.

wochenpost

Melde dich jetzt an und bekomme jeden Montag eine Zusammenstellung interessanter Artikel, Diskussionen und Blogs aus den Bereichen Software Engineering, Digitalisierung und Karriere.

ansprechpartner

steffen flegel

rock in the training surf +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

bettina schoch

training journey composer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99

doris rupnow

training visibility marketeer +49 30 747628-0
+49 30 747628-99